Saturday, 15 December 2012

Don't be a Jerk, it's Christmas.


Shopping centres, in general, are hell.
But we're approaching that special time of year when they just get so much worse. And there's nothing like working in one to make you hate all of humanity while you hold out for the end of the holiday season.
Common sense just seems to fail a lot of people when it comes to the holidays and shopping centres.
The worst is probably the people who think that there's no better place for a conversation then the middle of the walkway. Really guys? I mean, come on. Literally everyone hates you. You're a jerk. There's a special place in hell reserved for people like you.
Those people are also the same people that turn into bat shit crazy motherfuckers in the car park. It's been a nice change this year not having a car and so not having to deal with the whole parking situation at Christmas. I'm not sure if this applies to other shopping centres, but the one I work in has a designated 'staff parking' area that is a million miles away from the shops and late at night the walk back to the car is really nice if you want to get mugged. So thanks, centre management, but if I had a car, I probably wouldn't be parking it there.
On the topic of the shopping centre I work in, there was a big blow up about how there were no Christmas trees and how it was political correctness gone mad. I don't know how this whole thing came about but if anyone who was raging on about it, if they had maybe taken the time to have a look around before going on a rant about how people are ruining their Australian way of life, they probably would've noticed that there are Christmas trees all around the shopping centre. And a nativity scene. It really doesn't get much more Christian than a nativity scene so maybe these people just need to calm down.
Next time you're out buying Christmas presents, just spare a thought for the people behind the counter. As shit as it can get having to navigate the crowds and the lines, just remember, you're not the one that has to deal with all the people. And crazy motherfuckers not understanding that their coffee might take five minutes because there are people everywhere.

This might be my last post before Christmas, so if it is I hope you all enjoy yourselves, and get to spend it with the people that matter most to you. Stay safe.
Merry Christmas.
And I'll leave you with this.
I'll also add a disclaimer: I don't know any rights to spongebob squarepants or this song.


Friday, 7 December 2012

new again.

So it's been a while.
Life keeps getting in the way of my ability to spend time writing. But now I find myself with nothing but time. Not just because uni is done until March.
On that note for a second.
I must be one of few people who prefers being in session rather than out of it. I would prefer to have a million things to do rather than nothing. So the thought of having until March with nothing on scares the hell out of me.
And now I'm not sleeping.
It's been about a week now. I sleep about an hour a night. Two if I'm lucky. It's an odd feeling. But mostly it's just boring as all hell. There's nothing on tv but infomercials. But read a book I hear you saying. Tried that. I read a book cover to cover. twice. in one night. Then I read Dickens, still nothing. If Dickens can't put me to sleep I don't really know what to do.
I'm keeping this one short. But I kind of just wanted to say that the blog will be changing a bit. There'll still be the usual self deprecation and running social commentary, so never fear.
I hope you're all well.
I've missed you.

Brad.

P.S. if you haven't yet, see The Perks of Being a Wallflower. It's still absolutely perfect even after the third time.

Wednesday, 12 September 2012

Are You Okay?

Sorry for the gap in posting. All my assessments started piling up and I didn't really have much time for anything except uni, work, and occasionally sleep.
But I wanted to make the time to write this post.

Today is RUOK Day, and it encourages people to connect with their family, friends and colleagues to ask how they're going, and make sure that they're okay. It's important that we ask this question because sometimes it isn't easy to tell people that you're not doing so great. Whether it be because you don't want to be a burden on someone, or you feel like your problems can't be solved by anyone but yourself, it's important that we ask each other this question, because we have a habit of internalising our problems. And something small can manifest itself into something big. Or we might not be able to see our way out of a problem on our own.

1 in 5 Australians will experience depression in their life time. 4% of us will experience a major depressive illness each year. 64 000 Australians try to take their life each year, with the highest rate of attempts being men aged 15-24. It's important that those around you know that they're able to talk to someone, and by simply asking how someone is going you could save their life.

I've seen a lot of people talk about how stupid an idea it is, and that it isn't something that should only be asked one day out of the year. If you haven't lived through or had someone close to you suffer from depression, or attempted suicide, it's easy to trivialise the situation, and saying things like 'people just need to get over it' or 'harden the fuck up' tend to make the situation worse than it already was. But it is true, asking someone if they're okay isn't something that should be limited to one day of the year. Look out for your family and friends, if you notice a change in their demeanour ask how they're going.

And to you reading this, are you okay?

I hope that you're all well, and please, take the time to ask someone how they are doing.

Thursday, 23 August 2012

organisation win.

I was recently reprimanded for being inconsistent with my uploads and it got me thinking about how I generally fail when it comes to being organised at life.
It probably won't come as a shock to most that I pretty much suck at remembering when I'm supposed to be doing things. A sore point with most of the people in my life, because it generally means they've shown up somewhere we agreed to meet, called me to ask where I am, and then I pretend that I totally knew that we were meeting and I'm only just around the corner.
It's the same reason why I always answer the door in my pyjamas. I forget people are supposed to be coming over. (okay that and my pyjamas are just comfortable so fuck you, don't hate me just cos you've been forced into wearing acceptable clothes for three in the afternoon).

The only problem is, while it is generally understood by friends that they should probably remind me that we have plans to do things, or make sure I write it down, it doesn't go down so well when it comes to making sure I have my shit together for uni. and work. and paying bills.
The way I remember that I should probably pay my phone bill is that something in the back of my mind goes 'hey I didn't have this much money this time last month! I wonder why that is. then after about half an hour of trying to work it out I realise that I should check to see if I have a bill due.

To counter my inability to retain simple pieces of information like dates, and when things in my life are supposed to happen, I tried having a white board. which was great at first. I wrote everything I had to do on it. and got this great sense of satisfaction from ticking shit off it. then I wanted that feeling to last so I didn't bother wiping stuff off the board. I was all like fuck yeah look at what I accomplished. then I ran out of room to write new things on. and the whole system fell apart.
After that, I decided to give a diary a go. this is still my current approach but it isn't really working out that well for me. I either forget to write things in my diary, or I do and then lose it.

On the topic of not being able to retain information. I went out a few nights ago and was introduced to a group of people that all knew each other. How the fuck am I expected to remember everyones names? And then it gets worse because they all remember your name and start showing off being like so Brad what do you do. and I just sit there hoping no one realises I haven't referred to anyone by their name the whole night. It seems though that as soon as someone goes to tell me their name my whole brain just shuts down for two seconds and it's like a gap in the conversation.
I just don't know how to fix it.


If you have any organisation tips I would appreciate it. Or even if you have any tips on helping me retain information.

Some things that you should probably check out if you haven't already:

Leigh Sales owned the shit out of Tony Abbott on the 730 report last night. It is one of the best ways to spend twelve minutes (don't be crass, that doesn't take anywhere near twelve minutes)
A trailer was released for the first episode of the new series of Doctor Who.
actually cannot wait for this. if you have strong negative feelings towards Doctor Who, probably steer clear of reading anything I post after the 1st September. Also please get out of my life.

I also finished looking for alaska yesterday. Really enjoyed it. John Green is incredible. just the whole book was brilliant.
Because I didn't read many books last year, I set myself a challenge to read at the very least a book a month. I know it seems incredibly easy but when you spend most of your time having to read, sometimes reading isn't a fun way to relax.
Looking for Alaska was the tenth book I've read. the others were:
The Fault in Our Stars
The Reader
We Need to Talk About Kevin
Animal Farm
The Hunger Games
Catching Fire
Mockingjay
The Slap
Fahrenheit 451.

If you've read them let me know what you thought.
I may write something about them in the near future. Kind of depends on what my assessment schedule is like. Which I don't know at the moment because I can't find my diary. Winner.

Friday, 17 August 2012

I don't really know.

so I said that the next blog post I wrote would be about atheism.
I lied.
I am in the process of writing it though. It's just not done yet.
but now it's Friday night and despite plans of trivia and beer, I am stuck at home with no rum and limited supplies of tea.
I thought I was completely out but I ended up finding a small box that past Brad had hidden in the back of the cupboard for such an occasion. I'm prepared. or really weird. either/or really.

I don't really have a topic to write about in this post so if you want to stop here I won't blame you. tune in next time when I ramble about a particular point rather than sweet fuck all.

But a few things happened in the past week.

Firstly, it looks like I'll be moving out of home at the end of the year. This wasn't really spurred on by anything, other than the incredibly convenience of moving forty minutes closer to uni, and the need to get some independence. So if you have any advice I would appreciate it.

I'm hesitant to put this next one in because I don't know how long it'll last but, I stopped smoking. again. Funnily enough it was on the same day that the high court made its decision on plain packaging. but the main reason wasn't that I couldn't really justify the cost. When I tell people that they seem to jump straight to oh my god how can you say that that is the main reason, what about all the adverse health risks! yes, I understand the risks of smoking. but the health risks aren't really immediate. I can notice when I'm flat broke straight away. At the moment I feel fine. I guess I'll see how it goes over the next few days.

I don't have lymphatic cancer! (I probably never did but kate put the idea in my head)
So four weeks ago I notice this lump on my neck, who we're calling Sally (I didn't pick the name). After waiting to see if she'd go down on her own, and an ultrasound later, they seem to think it's just a swollen gland/lymph node they just aren't sure why. Having a conversation with a friend she told me that when the same thing happened to her they thought it could be lymphatic cancer. I'm already a big fan of self diagnosis using good old dr google, so with these two things in mind, I was convinced for about three hours that I had cancer.

I also started reading 'looking for alaska' by john green.
I'll reserve judgement until the end, but at the moment I really like it.
But then I haven't come across something of his that I didn't like.

If you stayed this far, then I'm sorry and thank you.
I'll get something that goes somewhere up in a few days.

Wednesday, 8 August 2012

Soundwave Announcements, New Doctor Who, Tattoos, and How I Won't Fail Uni this Semester (Probably)

So the Soundwave lineup was announced today and I thought it was pretty sick.
But my new found attempt at being frugal means that I can't justify spending $187 and a booking fee to see a handful of bands that I would love to see, and have to deal with thousands of people. So I figure I'll wait for the side waves and go bat shit crazy then (if motion city soundtrack do a sideshow I will probably punch someone from excitement).
And as always, there's a fuckload of people talking about how shit the lineup is. It has a pretty simple solution, don't go. I don't understand why so many people have taken so much time out of their lives to complain about shit that doesn't need to affect them.
That seems to be something I've encountered a lot lately. People just need to calm down and realise that most of the shit that they let ruin their day would probably not affect them at all.
I don't know, it's just strange. But we all do it, myself included.

Three weeks into the semester and I've managed to stay on top of all my work. It's actually fucking amazing. Although I don't think it'll last long. It's partly because my legal theory teacher expects very little from our generation, so out of spite I'm doing all the work so that I can prove her wrong. All in all, not a bad system. Atleast the work is getting done. But I've not actually met someone who is that condescending towards an entire group of people that she doesn't know. It's so frustrating. But hopefully she stops painting us all with the same brush.

The two most exciting things in my life right now are the fact that Doctor Who is returning soon, and I'm scheduled in for my leg piece next month!
All the trailers (all two of them) for the new series of Doctor Who look amazing. I am way too excited. And devastated at the same time. Amy and Rory's last episode will probably put me in some kind of emotional wreck (for those of you who remember what I was like after the Six Feet Under final, I imagine I'll be exactly the same, if not worse). But that aside, it's going to be amazing.
I also had a consult today for my leg piece out at Surrey Hills. Ridiculously keen, and I'll try and get some photos up when the artist sends me the final sketches.

Sorry again for the sporadic uploads.
I've started writing another post about finishing Farenheit 451, and my new found appreciation for distopian fiction, so if I finish it I'll post that up soon.

Also started reading the God Delusion. So far it's really good. Richard Dawkins is hilarious.

Sunday, 22 July 2012

Upon Returning to Uni


So after working 45 hours a week for four weeks, the holidays have finally drawn to a close. I always knew I would never come out of them feeling more relaxed, but I figured I’d be richer, if a little worse for wear.
Alas no, for anyone who has seen me with any money, no matter the amount, you all know that I get too excited by not being broke. So despite working to the point where my legs were probably going to up and quit, I decided I’d much prefer to buy shiny new things rather than be mature and save. Do I regret it? Well I’m still a week out of being paid yet so I’m not entirely broke, and I’m sure future Brad won’t mind living like a hobo until he gets paid again. Speaking of living like a hobo I kind of resemble a homeless person at the moment. Not intentionally, I just kind of forgot to look at myself before leaving the house and I guess you could say I look acceptably disheveled or homeless. Being sans coffee, and thus having a crazy look in my eye, I think we’ll opt for homeless.
But I digress, needing to only buy two textbooks this semester I figured I’d probably be up for about $150, and I wasn’t far off, it was gonna cost me $170. But I think I may have been a bit overwhelmed by all the books and stationery that were surrounding me.  $230 later and I have my textbooks, a legal dictionary, notebooks, pens, highlighters, new sleeves for my folder and coffee. I’m probably too excited about the prospect of new stationery but it’s probably one of my favorite things about the semester starting.
So while I’m having the greatest time ever highlighting everything that moves, I’m certain that future Brad will appreciate having pages of notebooks that are unusable while he is living off of sheets of paper cos he can’t afford a meal.
I also managed to get roped into helping out with in2uni today, which is a program where primary school kids come down to the uni and basically get told how great it is to learn things. My efforts lasted an hour and involved helping out with a game of trivia. One of the questions was 'what is the third book in the harry potter series' one of the children in the second group responded with 'who reads harry potter?' I'm sorry but that kid has clearly had the shittest childhood. Which we may have told him in a sort of roundabout way? Really? You've never read harry potter? But they all knew who wrote twilight? No hope for these children at all. They may as well just give up on life now.
But I scored a free lunch out of it so I guess it wasn't all too bad. And by scored a free lunch, I'm not entirely sure that I was supposed to be fed, but I saw a whole box of sandwiches and thought what the hell these kids are never gonna eat all those vegetarian sandwiches. 
I managed to surprise myself by actually attending uni today at all. It was only meant to be for a one hour lecture but I managed to fit that in as well as the volunteering and catching up with some people. And now I get to spend the evening reading up on legal theory and practicing my very poor French.
Do I win uni now?

Friday, 20 July 2012

Tales from the Cafe

So most of the time customers are alright. You get the occasional mother attempting to juggle three screaming children and hasn't had her coffee fix, and you can recognise that when she gets a bit snippy that she's just not having a fun time. 
But sometimes you get the people who are just incapable of understanding that the Earth revolves around the Sun.
This is for those people.

You're products are too expensive.
Okay? I'm not forcing you to buy anything? You walked in here, you know where the door is, just walk back on out. We aren't selling medicine, or staple food items, you don't need it, don't buy it. I don't set the prices. I'm not going to be offended if you decide not to get anything.

My hot chocolate is too sweet.
You're an idiot and I hate you. I hope you get diabetes. 

My drink isn't hot enough.
So this can kind of go two ways. Coming from a person who likes their drinks hot enough to cause third degree burns if you spill any on yourself, I can understand that if you order something and ask for that then by all means let me know if you want it hotter. A woman the other day told me to wait until the milk starts to smell (well she actually said burn the milk, but that's what happens, it smells like the cow that gave the milk died and is coming back for it's final revenge) but whatever, that's how you want your drink it's all good with me. 
But don't come back up flying off the handle because you forgot to say you wanted your drink hot. If not for the fact that I wasn't the one that fucked up your order, then because you probably don't want to piss off the person who decides if you get your fix. If you come up acting like a complete Joffrey then I'm going to make sure that your milk smells like a dead person. Enjoy!

What do you mean I have to wait!?
See all those other people sitting down, they wanted things too. In fact, they wanted so many things that  it's going to take me around ten minutes to get to your order. And y'know I can't produce food out of thing air because it's the first of the exceptions of gamp's law of elemental transfiguration (if I don't start referencing Harry Potter more often then I'll feel like I did something wrong). When you start acting like a child because no one can understand your pain in waiting ten minutes for that ice cream sundae you look like a giant cunt. No one's impressed by your ability to chuck a temper tantrum. Even the customers that I served after you think you're a fuckwit. 

People just need to calm down. If ordering a drink sets you on edge then probably don't leave your house. Ever. Buy a coffee machine and start making things yourself. Yell at your cats for fun. 


So I also wrote a post for my uni blog about whether studying a language is right for you. I don't know how I feel about it so I figure I'll post it here and y'all can tell me what you think. 

Wednesday, 18 July 2012

update

So that plan I had to update more frequently over the holidays was kind of shot in the face when I decided working 45 hours a week was a good idea.
And in between that, the political tomfoolery of the Bartlet Administration took up the reminder of my time when rewatching all seven seasons of the West Wing became a necessity.
But that aside the holidays were relatively enjoyable. I managed to fit in more piercings and a tattoo. As well as finally saving enough to buy a mac book. I'm going to fit in so well at uni now!
Keep an eye out tomorrow for an update on the perils of working in hospitality.
I've also got a blog going with the uni now cos I realised I should probably start getting more involved in things and junk.

Thursday, 21 June 2012

Shit People Say About My Piercings (or how I'd like people to stop assuming I have my junk pierced)

So I was having a conversation with a mate of mine today and they brought up the fact that a mutual acquantince who has no active part in my life can't seem to stop question why I keep putting holes in my face. Apparently I was feeling particularly sensitive about the issue.
I can completely understanding that people are probably going to look at my face and probably have questions about most of my piercings. for the most part people are generally nice, just relatively curious, however every once in a while you either get a complete arsehole, or someone who's just downright stupid.
This is for them.

1. Oh wow you have a lot of piercings!
Your powers of deduction are matched only by Sherlock Holmes. I don't know what it is, but some people just seem to need to this out. For anyone that's read Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, there was an theory for this, put forward by Ford Prefect:

'At first Ford had formed a theory to account for this strange behaviour. If human beings don't keep exercising their lips, he thought, their mouths probably seize up. After a few months' consideration and observation he abandoned this theory in favour of a new one. If they don't keep on exercising their lips, he thought, their brains start working.'

Some people are yet to prove this theory wrong.

But I guess it just comes down to a shock. People get lost for words and say the first thing that comes to mind. Unfortunately it's not incredibly insightful.

2. Did that hurt?
Yes.
I was stabbed.
With a needle.
Pain is involved.

3. So are all of your piercings on your face?
The problem here isn't so much the question as it is the fact that it's always followed by a glance up and down. And always focussing on one spot.
Questions about my junk should be preceded with a drink first.
But alas, the answer is no. Everything is from the neck up.
I once made the mistake of asking my piercer how they are performed. I'll go so far as to say it involves a scapel. The rest can be left to your imagination.

4. Why would you do that to yourself?
This question comes in many forms. The difference is generally in the tone. But there is usually only one way the question is interpreted and it's 'what the fuck is wrong with you?'
This question is one of the most frustrating because it's not something I've done for other people. I did it for me. I love piercings and tattoos. I find them fascinating. And it's an interesting way for people to express themselves.
I don't know why I have to justify that.


5. You'll never be able to practice law with those in/what happens when you get sick of them?
Really? Thank you. This is equally as frustrating as four. I'm well aware that I probably would never be able to practice law with facial piercings, as dumb as I sometimes look, I am not completely oblivious to the world around me.
But the problem I have with this statement isn't that I think that society is wrong for not accepting me as I am and all that bullshit, I'm not that naive. The problem is in the permanency. Piercings aren't permanent. They come out. The hole heals. And Bob's your uncle.
I had a guy with two full sleeves come up to me and say 'you're an idiot, at least I can cover mine up!' Yep. I'm the idiot. I could wake up tomorrow and take out all of these and most people would never know I had them. I hope that Southern Cross tattoo brings you as much joy and happiness in 80 years as it does today. (that wasn't an intentional dig at people with Southern Cross tattoos).
Most, if not all, of my piercings were done spontaneously. Better that I get spontaneous piercings than spontaneous tattoos.
I can hear you all questioning how long it'll take me to regret that Deathly Hallows tattoo. To that I say, I don't regret it yet, so that's all I've got to work with right now.
So yes, you're not wrong, I won't practice law with those in. But I'm not practicing law at the moment.

Basically it comes down to the fact that the piercings are what suits me right now.
And why the hell shouldn't I do them, while I still can?


Tuesday, 29 May 2012

A Short Farewell to Suzie.

So after months of lying dead on my driveway, Suzie is no more.
She was taken away today to live a better life somewhere else (I'm pretty sure she was getting taken to Golburn or something like that). How she'll survive that journey I'll never know. I'm just kind of glad she's gone.
For those of you who don't know. Suzie was my 1988 station wagon, who was, for most of the time she was with me, more trouble than she was worth.
Basically when I got her the ignition barrel broke. Then the entire cooling system. Then the power steering. Then finally the gearbox. But she was a trooper.
So farewell car number three (the only time I've ever had a car is when they're on their last legs and so they come to me to die). I probably won't miss you all that much.

Monday, 28 May 2012

being more involved at uni and getting free coffee.

So my uni was looking for people to help write a blog with stuff going on at the uni, whether it be academic, or pretty much anything else really. We had to send in a sample post of something that had happened to us that week. Because I only attend uni two days a week now, and don't really feel like a real student not a lot happens to me when I'm there. The high point last week was filling up my coffee card so that I can now get a free one. But then there's always the problem of when to use it. So that's what I wrote about. Let me know what you think.
Credit to Liz, for without whom I never would've known the value of a free coffee.
Also, sorry for being a bit shit with the uploading. I have two days left of uni and then I'm done for a while so I should be a little less sporadic with the posts.


 On Friday I was faced with a choice that, for those of us who love getting free things, is incredibly difficult. We’ve all had to make the choice at one point. If you get it right, it has the potential to make your day, but getting it wrong could be disastrous in the future.  The choice: when do I use my free coffee on a loyalty card?

                From previous experience there’s basically two ways to approach this. The first I’ll call the ‘hell yes gonna get me some free stuff right away’ approach, and as the name suggests as soon as that card is filled up you claim the coffee straight away, and heaven help anyone that attempts to get in the way of you and free caffeine. The upside to this is that you’ll be a happy little caffeinated camper for the rest of the day. The downside, you’ll be questioning whether using the card then and there was the right choice. Which leads us to option two: the ‘broke joke’ approach, and my personal preference. If you choose this path it means that you have to wait a while to get that feeling of satisfaction in getting a free coffee, but it will be worth it. If you wait until you are completely broke (and let’s face it being a uni student that shouldn’t take too long) then the free coffee card is a beacon of hope. Despite the fact that you probably won’t have the money to buy food or pay rent, you still have that free coffee, and it’ll taste that much better, and nothing else will matter.

                So when I was faced with this choice on Friday, I naturally opted for the broke joke approach. And I know that the day I use that card to get my free coffee, broke Brad will definitely be thanking me for it.

Monday, 14 May 2012

Procrasturbation

Everytime I have an assessment due, no matter what it is, no matter how much it's worth, I will put it off until the night before it's due. While I know that current Brad hates having to concerntrate and study in order to not fail his degree, there's always part of me that's under the impression that future Brad will be much more willing and able at starting an assessment, and won't at all mind staying up until 4am writing footnotes.

So basically, here's the shit I do instead of studying:

1. Watch Harry Potter.

I'm sure anyone that knows me isn't exactly surprised by this.
Let's face it, we all know that I would have no hesitation in leaving my life behind and moving to London in an attempt to become a wizard. Naturally rewatching Harry Potter and being able to quote every movie and pointing out when the girl gets hit in the face with the package during Philsopher's Stone is essential studying for this life dream.

2. Alphabetise all my belongings.

I'm that kind of crazy. All my cds, books and dvds are alphabetised. Not only that, my dvds are first sorted between tv shows and movies, then into genres. Yep. I tried to move to that level with my books but realised if I remove the Harry Potter series and related books most of the books that are left are crime fiction or the hitchhikers guide to the galaxy series, so that plan sort of went out the window.
I'm not really sure why but there's something strangley calming about organising the fuck out of my bookshelf. and if I'm particularly unwilling to do an assessment, I have at certain stages inventoried my bookshelf.

I should probably get out of my house a lot more.

3. Starting a new tv show.

This is probably the thing I'm best at. If someone gets me onto a new show that I like I'll go from not knowing it existed to crazed fan in about three days. and starting new tv shows and rewatching old ones, is something that I will never stop doing. depending on how much time I'm trying to kill I'll either watch an epsiode of doctor who here or there (and by episode I pretty much mean a season), or if it's a particularly lengthy assessment I'll break out a whole series. Like Six Feet Under. cos not only can I smash that out in under a week, but by the time I'm done I need at least two weeks recovery time cos I'll wonder around my house acting like everyone in my family just died (and let's face it they pretty much did. Claire Fisher I love you.)
This is the first semester of uni that I haven't become seriously involved in a tv show.

and now I have to go write a torts essay. either that or watch harry potter.
I also bought most of the marvel dvds so I'm probably going to fail torts.

on a side note if you haven't seen The Avengers, stop whatever the fuck it is your doing and go and see it now.

Sunday, 6 May 2012

my unhealthy relationship with Doctor Who.

despite constantly explaining to my friends how amazing a show it is, I just can't seem to get them to appreciate Doctor Who.
But every so often I have someone come up to me and say "oh so I saw an episode of Doctor Who, and it wasn't half bad!"
and then things start to get weird.
any by weird, I mean I show how much I need to leave my house and stop watching Doctor Who.
like today a conversation went:
So I finally saw an episode of Doctor Who, I mean I got passed the scary intro and caught the first ten minutes.
Oh what happened?
I'm not really sure, there was a very large field?
Oh yep, we're two people in a car writing out 'Doctor'?
Yeah!
That's 'let's kill hitler' season six.
wow.
and I've gone and done it. I could've stopped at asking what happened. but no. I had to go as far as telling them the episode name and the season it was in.
but I guess I didn't go as far as quoting the entire episode, which I'm quite certain I could do.
don't judge me. I've got to do something to pass the time, lest I actually begin studying.

I done made a blog.

Because while waiting for my sleeping pills to kick in I thought fuck it, I've been thinking about it for a while so I'll do it now. No time like the present, and all that shit.
Speaking of my sleeping pills, I took it about two hours ago, so safe to say it probably hasn't worked. Which is fun.

I haven't really thought about what I'll write about, but I imagine at times I'll fail at being funny, and as we move closer and closer to the exam period I'll talk alot about career changes and dropping out of uni to become a pick pocket.