So after working 45 hours a week for four
weeks, the holidays have finally drawn to a close. I always knew I would never
come out of them feeling more relaxed, but I figured I’d be richer, if a little
worse for wear.
Alas no, for anyone who has seen me with
any money, no matter the amount, you all know that I get too excited by not
being broke. So despite working to the point where my legs were probably
going to up and quit, I decided I’d much prefer to buy shiny new things rather
than be mature and save. Do I regret it? Well I’m still a week out of being
paid yet so I’m not entirely broke, and I’m sure future Brad won’t mind living
like a hobo until he gets paid again. Speaking of living like a hobo I kind of
resemble a homeless person at the moment. Not intentionally, I just kind of
forgot to look at myself before leaving the house and I guess you could say I
look acceptably disheveled or homeless. Being sans coffee, and thus having a
crazy look in my eye, I think we’ll opt for homeless.
But I digress, needing to only buy two
textbooks this semester I figured I’d probably be up for about $150, and I
wasn’t far off, it was gonna cost me $170. But I think I may have been a bit
overwhelmed by all the books and stationery that were surrounding me. $230 later and I have my textbooks, a legal
dictionary, notebooks, pens, highlighters, new sleeves for my folder and
coffee. I’m probably too excited about the prospect of new stationery but it’s
probably one of my favorite things about the semester starting.
So while I’m having the greatest time ever
highlighting everything that moves, I’m certain that future Brad will appreciate
having pages of notebooks that are unusable while he is living off of sheets of
paper cos he can’t afford a meal.
I also managed to get roped into helping out with in2uni today, which is a program where primary school kids come down to the uni and basically get told how great it is to learn things. My efforts lasted an hour and involved helping out with a game of trivia. One of the questions was 'what is the third book in the harry potter series' one of the children in the second group responded with 'who reads harry potter?' I'm sorry but that kid has clearly had the shittest childhood. Which we may have told him in a sort of roundabout way? Really? You've never read harry potter? But they all knew who wrote twilight? No hope for these children at all. They may as well just give up on life now.
But I scored a free lunch out of it so I guess it wasn't all too bad. And by scored a free lunch, I'm not entirely sure that I was supposed to be fed, but I saw a whole box of sandwiches and thought what the hell these kids are never gonna eat all those vegetarian sandwiches.
I managed to surprise myself by actually attending uni today at all. It was only meant to be for a one hour lecture but I managed to fit that in as well as the volunteering and catching up with some people. And now I get to spend the evening reading up on legal theory and practicing my very poor French.
Do I win uni now?
No comments:
Post a Comment