Tuesday, 29 May 2012

A Short Farewell to Suzie.

So after months of lying dead on my driveway, Suzie is no more.
She was taken away today to live a better life somewhere else (I'm pretty sure she was getting taken to Golburn or something like that). How she'll survive that journey I'll never know. I'm just kind of glad she's gone.
For those of you who don't know. Suzie was my 1988 station wagon, who was, for most of the time she was with me, more trouble than she was worth.
Basically when I got her the ignition barrel broke. Then the entire cooling system. Then the power steering. Then finally the gearbox. But she was a trooper.
So farewell car number three (the only time I've ever had a car is when they're on their last legs and so they come to me to die). I probably won't miss you all that much.

Monday, 28 May 2012

being more involved at uni and getting free coffee.

So my uni was looking for people to help write a blog with stuff going on at the uni, whether it be academic, or pretty much anything else really. We had to send in a sample post of something that had happened to us that week. Because I only attend uni two days a week now, and don't really feel like a real student not a lot happens to me when I'm there. The high point last week was filling up my coffee card so that I can now get a free one. But then there's always the problem of when to use it. So that's what I wrote about. Let me know what you think.
Credit to Liz, for without whom I never would've known the value of a free coffee.
Also, sorry for being a bit shit with the uploading. I have two days left of uni and then I'm done for a while so I should be a little less sporadic with the posts.


 On Friday I was faced with a choice that, for those of us who love getting free things, is incredibly difficult. We’ve all had to make the choice at one point. If you get it right, it has the potential to make your day, but getting it wrong could be disastrous in the future.  The choice: when do I use my free coffee on a loyalty card?

                From previous experience there’s basically two ways to approach this. The first I’ll call the ‘hell yes gonna get me some free stuff right away’ approach, and as the name suggests as soon as that card is filled up you claim the coffee straight away, and heaven help anyone that attempts to get in the way of you and free caffeine. The upside to this is that you’ll be a happy little caffeinated camper for the rest of the day. The downside, you’ll be questioning whether using the card then and there was the right choice. Which leads us to option two: the ‘broke joke’ approach, and my personal preference. If you choose this path it means that you have to wait a while to get that feeling of satisfaction in getting a free coffee, but it will be worth it. If you wait until you are completely broke (and let’s face it being a uni student that shouldn’t take too long) then the free coffee card is a beacon of hope. Despite the fact that you probably won’t have the money to buy food or pay rent, you still have that free coffee, and it’ll taste that much better, and nothing else will matter.

                So when I was faced with this choice on Friday, I naturally opted for the broke joke approach. And I know that the day I use that card to get my free coffee, broke Brad will definitely be thanking me for it.

Monday, 14 May 2012

Procrasturbation

Everytime I have an assessment due, no matter what it is, no matter how much it's worth, I will put it off until the night before it's due. While I know that current Brad hates having to concerntrate and study in order to not fail his degree, there's always part of me that's under the impression that future Brad will be much more willing and able at starting an assessment, and won't at all mind staying up until 4am writing footnotes.

So basically, here's the shit I do instead of studying:

1. Watch Harry Potter.

I'm sure anyone that knows me isn't exactly surprised by this.
Let's face it, we all know that I would have no hesitation in leaving my life behind and moving to London in an attempt to become a wizard. Naturally rewatching Harry Potter and being able to quote every movie and pointing out when the girl gets hit in the face with the package during Philsopher's Stone is essential studying for this life dream.

2. Alphabetise all my belongings.

I'm that kind of crazy. All my cds, books and dvds are alphabetised. Not only that, my dvds are first sorted between tv shows and movies, then into genres. Yep. I tried to move to that level with my books but realised if I remove the Harry Potter series and related books most of the books that are left are crime fiction or the hitchhikers guide to the galaxy series, so that plan sort of went out the window.
I'm not really sure why but there's something strangley calming about organising the fuck out of my bookshelf. and if I'm particularly unwilling to do an assessment, I have at certain stages inventoried my bookshelf.

I should probably get out of my house a lot more.

3. Starting a new tv show.

This is probably the thing I'm best at. If someone gets me onto a new show that I like I'll go from not knowing it existed to crazed fan in about three days. and starting new tv shows and rewatching old ones, is something that I will never stop doing. depending on how much time I'm trying to kill I'll either watch an epsiode of doctor who here or there (and by episode I pretty much mean a season), or if it's a particularly lengthy assessment I'll break out a whole series. Like Six Feet Under. cos not only can I smash that out in under a week, but by the time I'm done I need at least two weeks recovery time cos I'll wonder around my house acting like everyone in my family just died (and let's face it they pretty much did. Claire Fisher I love you.)
This is the first semester of uni that I haven't become seriously involved in a tv show.

and now I have to go write a torts essay. either that or watch harry potter.
I also bought most of the marvel dvds so I'm probably going to fail torts.

on a side note if you haven't seen The Avengers, stop whatever the fuck it is your doing and go and see it now.

Sunday, 6 May 2012

my unhealthy relationship with Doctor Who.

despite constantly explaining to my friends how amazing a show it is, I just can't seem to get them to appreciate Doctor Who.
But every so often I have someone come up to me and say "oh so I saw an episode of Doctor Who, and it wasn't half bad!"
and then things start to get weird.
any by weird, I mean I show how much I need to leave my house and stop watching Doctor Who.
like today a conversation went:
So I finally saw an episode of Doctor Who, I mean I got passed the scary intro and caught the first ten minutes.
Oh what happened?
I'm not really sure, there was a very large field?
Oh yep, we're two people in a car writing out 'Doctor'?
Yeah!
That's 'let's kill hitler' season six.
wow.
and I've gone and done it. I could've stopped at asking what happened. but no. I had to go as far as telling them the episode name and the season it was in.
but I guess I didn't go as far as quoting the entire episode, which I'm quite certain I could do.
don't judge me. I've got to do something to pass the time, lest I actually begin studying.

I done made a blog.

Because while waiting for my sleeping pills to kick in I thought fuck it, I've been thinking about it for a while so I'll do it now. No time like the present, and all that shit.
Speaking of my sleeping pills, I took it about two hours ago, so safe to say it probably hasn't worked. Which is fun.

I haven't really thought about what I'll write about, but I imagine at times I'll fail at being funny, and as we move closer and closer to the exam period I'll talk alot about career changes and dropping out of uni to become a pick pocket.