Saturday, 15 December 2012

Don't be a Jerk, it's Christmas.


Shopping centres, in general, are hell.
But we're approaching that special time of year when they just get so much worse. And there's nothing like working in one to make you hate all of humanity while you hold out for the end of the holiday season.
Common sense just seems to fail a lot of people when it comes to the holidays and shopping centres.
The worst is probably the people who think that there's no better place for a conversation then the middle of the walkway. Really guys? I mean, come on. Literally everyone hates you. You're a jerk. There's a special place in hell reserved for people like you.
Those people are also the same people that turn into bat shit crazy motherfuckers in the car park. It's been a nice change this year not having a car and so not having to deal with the whole parking situation at Christmas. I'm not sure if this applies to other shopping centres, but the one I work in has a designated 'staff parking' area that is a million miles away from the shops and late at night the walk back to the car is really nice if you want to get mugged. So thanks, centre management, but if I had a car, I probably wouldn't be parking it there.
On the topic of the shopping centre I work in, there was a big blow up about how there were no Christmas trees and how it was political correctness gone mad. I don't know how this whole thing came about but if anyone who was raging on about it, if they had maybe taken the time to have a look around before going on a rant about how people are ruining their Australian way of life, they probably would've noticed that there are Christmas trees all around the shopping centre. And a nativity scene. It really doesn't get much more Christian than a nativity scene so maybe these people just need to calm down.
Next time you're out buying Christmas presents, just spare a thought for the people behind the counter. As shit as it can get having to navigate the crowds and the lines, just remember, you're not the one that has to deal with all the people. And crazy motherfuckers not understanding that their coffee might take five minutes because there are people everywhere.

This might be my last post before Christmas, so if it is I hope you all enjoy yourselves, and get to spend it with the people that matter most to you. Stay safe.
Merry Christmas.
And I'll leave you with this.
I'll also add a disclaimer: I don't know any rights to spongebob squarepants or this song.


Friday, 7 December 2012

new again.

So it's been a while.
Life keeps getting in the way of my ability to spend time writing. But now I find myself with nothing but time. Not just because uni is done until March.
On that note for a second.
I must be one of few people who prefers being in session rather than out of it. I would prefer to have a million things to do rather than nothing. So the thought of having until March with nothing on scares the hell out of me.
And now I'm not sleeping.
It's been about a week now. I sleep about an hour a night. Two if I'm lucky. It's an odd feeling. But mostly it's just boring as all hell. There's nothing on tv but infomercials. But read a book I hear you saying. Tried that. I read a book cover to cover. twice. in one night. Then I read Dickens, still nothing. If Dickens can't put me to sleep I don't really know what to do.
I'm keeping this one short. But I kind of just wanted to say that the blog will be changing a bit. There'll still be the usual self deprecation and running social commentary, so never fear.
I hope you're all well.
I've missed you.

Brad.

P.S. if you haven't yet, see The Perks of Being a Wallflower. It's still absolutely perfect even after the third time.